2016 Hugo Nominees

The 2016 Hugo Award nominees for best novel have been posted, and I’m excited that I’ve already read three of the five since last fall. In January, I reviewed The Cinder Spires: The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher. I can’t wait to read more in the series, as I love swashbuckling, flying ships, and Butcher’s unique cast and world building.  I recently posted my thoughts on one of the nominees, Seveneves: A Novel by Neal Stephenson, as well as Aurora, which was not nominated, a shame. The other book that I’ve read is Uprooted by Naomi Novik. It’s a lovely, compelling story that pulls from different fairy tales than the ones I grew up on. I’m planning to write a longer review of it, possibly today.

I’d like to read the other two nominees soon, as I’ve enjoyed N.K. Jamison’s lush storytelling in the past.  I’ve read the first book in Ann Leckie’s amazing series, so I’d have to read another book before reading the nominee. This shouldn’t be hard to accomplish since the Hugo awards are presented in August. Luckily for me, I don’t actually have to choose between such disparate books.  I can just enjoy them all for what they are.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Fantasy, Science Fiction

Leave a Reply

