Squee: The Expanse Series on Syfy

[Minor spoilers]

This weekend, my friend, Daniel, sent me an article on the new TV series planned for Syfy based on the Expanse Series by James S.A. Corey.  I’ve been giving the first book as a gift to friends over the past couple of years because I think it’s so fun.  Although I’m already working on a longer blog post about the third novel, Abbadon’s Gate, I couldn’t wait to share my excitement. (For more information on the new show, you can read this review on Io9.) The Expanse Series would make for compelling television with its great, swashbuckling plots, diverse characters, and thought-provoking ideas about the nature of humanity’s place in the universe.

I’ve reviewed the first two books, Leviathan Wakes and Caliban’s War already. The plot engaged me in all three books.  Plenty of material exists to fill episodes between the overarching mystery of what’s happening with the newly discovered protomolecule, swashbuckling adventures, and political intrigue.  At first, I had reservations about the treatment of women in the books.  The first book has a noir feel and few women as protagonists.  But the second book has terrific, strong women like Bonnie, a Mars Marine, and Chrisjen Avasarala, a powerful politician.  Although I haven’t posted my review of the third book yet, the trend of intriguing characters, both men and women, continues.

Finally, the books explore deep ideas about the place of humanity in the universe.  In the third book, questions of human nature and society to the forefront.  How do humans react under conditions of massive uncertainty?  How do we respond to loss and pain? How do we want to act as a collective? Can we get beyond the loyalty to in groups that divide us?

I have high hopes for this television series and hope that Syfy can do it justice.  I should have my review of Abbadon’s Gate up this week.  The post mainly focuses on religious implications of the discoveries made in series.

http://io9.com/syfy-is-turning-james-s-a-coreys-books-into-game-of-t-1562411885

1 Comment

Filed under Science Fiction

One response to “Squee: The Expanse Series on Syfy

  1. Pingback: Religion in Abaddon’s Gate | Jackofallbooks

Leave a Reply

